Our Governors

Burston and Tivetshall Primary Schools’  Local Governing Board is a federated governing board meaning that there is one Local Governing Board shared between both schools. The governing body sits within the overall leadership structure of the Sapientia Education Trust. Information on the leadership & governance structure of the academy trust can be found at: https://www.se-trust.org/

The Governors of Burston & Tivetshall Primary Schools are responsible for the overall strategy for the schools by:

  • Setting the aims and objectives for the schools
  • Adopting policies for achieving those aims and objectives
  • Setting targets for achieving those aims and objectives
  • Monitoring the targets of the aims and objectives

The  Headteacher is responsible for the internal organisation, management and organisation of the schools.

There are 7 governor positions. All governors serve a term of four years, after which time they may continue or stand for election again.

The members of our current Governing board are:

Name Position
Helen Adshead Chair of Governors
Mark Carlyle Executive Headteacher
James Tarry Vice Chair
Norma Ajdukiewicz Community Governor
Rebecca Chamberlain Parent Governor
Jan Frankland  Community Governor
Wendy Green Staff Governor


The Governors can be contacted via the school office (office@tps.set.education) or through the school at

Tivetshall Primary School

School Road

Tivetshall St Mary


NR15 2BP

The Governors are advised by the  Executive Headteacher, Mark Carlyle, and members of the Leadership Team.


Please follow the link to see the Register of Interests : January 2020 – Register of Interests – Burston & Tivetshall LGB

Click on the link to see the attendance register for governor meetings: 2018-19 B&T LGB meeting attendance